Pivotal Tracker: An Interesting Tool that I Encountered Recently

Pivotal Tracker: An Interesting Tool that I Encountered Recently

Pivotal equal central and it is important!

What is Pivotal Tracker?

From Pivotal Tracker website, It is described as an agile project management tool of choice for developers around the world for real-time collaboration around a shared, prioritized backlog.

I got to know about Pivotal Tracker when I was preparing for Andela’s Bootcamp, I was fascinated about it. I love the fact that it works inline with Agile Manifesto which values:

  • Individuals and interactions over processes and tools

  • Working software over comprehensive documentation

  • Customer collaboration over contract negotiation

  • Responding to change over following a plan

By learning the use of Pivotal Tracker and following the Bootcamp curriculum, I developed the following habit;

  • I break down the functionality of a project into small units,

  • When I have a number of tasks, I assign each task points based on their complexity,

  • I prioritize task based on importance and complexity (or a combination of both),

  • I reflect on the progress of my project so far and keep track of changes/improvements,

And, my belief is that my project stands a higher chance of succeeding when I follow Agile methodology.